Do you want to learn more about the landlord-tenant laws in Fort Collins, Colorado?
They protect the rights of landlords and tenants alike and states the responsibilities of both parties. When you understand the rules, you can solve the majority of problems before taking legal action.
Here are the major rights and responsibilities spelled out by the landlord-tenant laws in the state of Colorado.
Security deposit in Fort Collins, CO
There is no security deposit limit on the state level, and there are no additional limits in Fort Collins. When a renter moves out, the landlord has to return the security deposit within 60 days.
The landlord needs to send their tenant an itemized list of reasons and costs as an explanation of why they did not return the deposit. Landlords need to present this list within a month after the tenant vacates the rental unit.
The security deposit may cover lost revenue and property damage. Here are some possible reasons for deduction:
- The unit requires cleaning that goes beyond normal wear and tear
- The tenant has not paid the utility bills
- The renter defaulted on paying the rent
- There is property damage that is not part of normal wear and tear
- The tenant breaks the lease agreement early
Occupancy Ordinance in Fort Collins
Landlords have to comply with the Fort Collins occupancy ordinance. This statute limits the number of occupants in any residential unit. Here are the possible occupancy scenarios:
a) Two adults and their dependents (if any) AND one additional person
b) One family AND one additional person
In this context, families consist of any number of people all of whom may be related by...
- Other authorized custodial relationship
Fair Housing in Colorado
The federal Fair Housing Act (FHA) ensures that everyone has equal opportunities in the housing market. This act gives rights to protected classes, including national origin, religion, color, and race.
Landlords may not discriminate against any of the established classes. There are many potentially discriminatory actions. For example, landlords could provide false information about housing availability, or they might quote different prices depending on the person's background or identity.
Landlord retaliation in Fort Collins, CO
Any act of retaliation is illegal under Colorado state laws. There are many possible reasons why a landlord might retaliate against a tenant. For example, the renter joined a union, or they complained to the local housing department.
Here are some landlord actions that would be considered acts of retaliation:
- Increasing the rent
- Changing the locks without providing keys
- Decreasing the availability of services
- Removing the tenant's possessions from the property
- Harassing the tenant through any medium, including chat messages
- Choosing not to provide necessary maintenance or repairs
Landlord's right to access in Colorado
Renters have the right to quiet enjoyment of the property, which is why landlords are unable to enter the rental property as they wish. However, there is no statute regarding notice of entry in Colorado. In most cases, 24 hours' notice is a reasonable timeline. The entry times need to be “reasonable” as well.
Landlords may enter to show the property to prospective renters or buyers. Landlords should get to perform maintenance and repair responsibilities after serving proper notice.
Landlords will not need permission for entry when they have solid evidence of property abandonment. There is also the right to access with the tenant's permission—for example, if the tenant asks for the landlord's help concerning an urgent issue.
Habitability in Fort Collins, CO
The landlord has the duty of providing a habitable living space. Here are the essentials that every landlord has to provide:
- Clean common areas
- Trash receptacles
- Protection from the elements
- Functioning electricity together with climate and heat control
- Safe floors, railings, and stairways
- Locks on exterior doors and windows
- Pest extermination
- Running water and hot water
- Plumbing and connection to sewage fixtures
Every landlord in the Fort Collins area needs to comply with building, health, and housing codes.
Tenant's right to withhold rent in Fort Collins
Landlords have to provide habitable housing. Renters have the right to withhold rent if the building fails health, safety, and structural standards. However, before the act of withholding rent, tenants have to ensure they have proper ground to do so. Otherwise, they risk facing an eviction.
Tenants wishing to withhold rent have to meet some requirements. They need to clarify the monetary limits, qualifying issues, and the type of notice needed to give to their landlord. All Colorado residential properties have an implied warranty of habitability as part of a rental agreement.
Lease termination in Fort Collins, CO
How much notice do landlords have to give to their tenants?
This depends on the length of the lease:
- Leases that are less than a week: The landlord has to give the tenant one day.
- Leases that are longer than a week but less than a month: The landlord has to give the tenant three days.
- Leases that are longer than a month but less than six months: The landlord has to give the tenant seven days.
- Leases that are longer than six months but less than a year: The landlord has to give the tenant 28 days.
- Leases that are for one year or longer: The landlord has to give the tenant 91 days to vacate the premises after lease termination.
The bottom line: Landlord-tenant laws in Fort Collins, Colorado
Both landlords and tenants benefit from understanding the landlord-tenant laws in Fort Collins, CO. When each party knows their rights and responsibilities, there is less risk of facing costly legal disputes.
There are many aspects of landlord-tenant regulations. When you are not sure how to interpret more complicated nuances, consult with a qualified attorney or hire a professional property management company like Onsite Property Management Services.