Winter is coming. And that means snow and ice. Whether you own or rent, ride the bus, drive a bike or drive, there are laws you need to be away of, both for your safety and so you don’t get a ticket. Here are the most common snow-related laws you need to look out for.
If there is a sidewalk in front of your house, you’re responsible for clearing it. Within 24 hours of the end of a snow storm, you must clear the area in front of your house; that includes crosswalks, entrance ways, intersections or exits, if they are adjacent to your property. You also have to move the snow onto your property. You can’t just scoop it into the street.
If you don’t follow these rules, you could be charged with a misdemeanor, or have someone sue you in civil court if they fall and get hurt in front of your property that you failed to remove snow from.
Driving in Colorado in the snow can be treacherous, and we’ve had some pretty gnarly wrecks over the years. That’s why Colorado passed a law that requires minimum standards for all vehicles in winter weather conditions. Vehicles must have either snow tires with at least ⅛” tread, all weather tires with mud and snow mark with ⅛” tread, four wheel drive with ⅛” tread, or a traction device such as chains. Don’t have one of the above? You could face up to a $650 fine.
Biking is huge in Colorado and with the beautiful scenery and gorgeous climate that’s not a surprise. But biking in the snow can be dangerous. Be sure you have your lights (white up front, red in the back) at all times during the winter; you never know when it might get foggy or snowy. Be extra cautious when biking on busy roads. If the road is slick a car may not be able to stop for you; be sure you are yielding when needed and very aware of the vehicles around you.